Thai Hotels Association-Eastern (THA-E) Chapter elects its new president

  ::Thai Hotels Association-Eastern (THA-E) Chapter elects its new president::

After successfully completing two consecutive terms as THA-E president, Mr. Chatchawal Supachayanont recently relinquished his position but was later elected as one of the two vice-presidents to serve the 2010-2012 tenure of the new THA-E Management Board. The eastern chapter of one of the key tourism associations in Thailand held its annual general meeting and voted for its new chairman as well as new board members during elections participated in by 62 member hotels held on 24 March 2010 at the Napalai Convention Hall of Dusit Thani Pattaya. Contenders for the presidency came from two parties each led by Mr. Supachayanont who is also the general manager of Dusit Thani Pattaya and Mrs. Panga Vathanakul, managing director of Royal Cliff Beach Resort Hotel.

Initial counting of the ballots indicated a neck and neck competition but the final results declared former THA-E vice president Ms. Bundarik Kusolvit as the newly-elected THA-E president defeating her rival, Mr. Somchai Rattanaopat, general manager of A-One Royal Cruise Hotel by a margin of 33 votes to 29. Ms. Kusolvit, managing director of City Hotels Sriracha represented Mr. Supachayanont’s party while Mr. Rattanaopat was under the wing of Mrs.Vathanakul.

In her victory speech, the new THA-E leader took the opportunity to outline the programs and projects for the next two years including campaigns to reinvigorate the tourism industry in the eastern region. She expressed optimism that with the support coming from everyone, especially from her two vice presidents-elect, Mr. Thanet Supornsahatrungsi and Mr. Supachayanont, the association will be able to realize its plans and objectives.

THA-E holds elections once every two years for new management board members and the chairmanship term can be extended for another two years after which fresh voting will be held. The event was also attended by Pattaya Mayor Mr. Ittiphol Khunplome who acted as the chairman of the election committee, Mr. Niti Kongkrut, director of TAT Office Pattaya, Mr. Sampan Panpat, THA advisor and Mr. Pratheep Malhotra, managing director of Pattaya Mail Publishing Company Limited.

Photo shows the newly-elected THA-E Management Board for 2010-2012 (Left to right): Mr. Chatchawal Supachayanont, second vice-president; Ms. Bundarik Kusolvit, THA-E president and Mr. Thanet Supornsahatrungsi, first vice president.

Ms. Kusolvit, the former THA-E vice president addresses the THA-E members with the association’s annual summary report for 2008-2009.

(Left to right): Mr. Pratheep Malhotra, Mr. Sampan Panpat, Pattaya Mayor Ittiphol Khunplome and Mr. Niti Kongkrut

Source = Dusit Thani Pattaya
Pin It

Comments are closed.